DIVERSITATIS Foundation – Promoting seed diversity for organic agriculture.

In brief

Diversitatis is Latin and means Foundation of Diversity.

The DIVERSITATIS Foundation promotes biological diversity in agriculture and horticulture. We do this by:

  • running a seed bank in Switzerland
  • supporting seed saving projects all over the world
  • working for the creation of a global market of freely and fairly traded seeds.

The DIVERSITATIS Foundation was founded in 2017 by the Austrian seed savers association “Arche Noah“. It is a non-profit foundation under Swiss law based in Zurich and Vienna.

Purpose

The foundation’s purpose is to preserve and develop biological diversity and to promote its sustainable use, in particular with regard to crop plants, wild plants and livestock.

We put the focus of sustainable agriculture on an abundance of varieties of vegetables, fruits, beans, oilseeds, roots, tubers, nuts, herbs, medicinal plants, as well as the great number of local livestock breeds. We support people who collect, preserve, make available, and refine this wealth of varieties. We advocate that access to biological diversity must remain free of patents and thus open to everyone.

Our philosophy

Preserving by using.

Founder ARCHE NOAH

The founder of DIVERSITATIS is the Austrian association “Arche Noah – a society for preserving and developing the diversity of cultivated plants”.

Representing around 17,000 members and employing a staff of more than 30 persons, Arche Noah is one of Europe’s largest seed savers organizations. At its base in Schiltern in Lower Austria, it runs a visitors’ garden and a seed bank. Seeds and seedlings are marketed in an online shop and at seasonal fairs. Many of the members plant rare locally adapted species in their own gardens and are thus engaged in their preservation and dissemination. In addition, Arche Noah offers a range of workshops for professional and hobby gardeners. It is involved in European research projects, and it advocates agro-biodiversity on the political level in Austria and Brussels.

It was the intention to enhance the international cooperation in relation to preserving and developing agro-biodiversity that made Arche Noah found DIVERSITATIS. Three missions have been assigned to the foundation. First it will take custody of a full copy of the Arche Noah seed bank and keep it for conservation in a location in Switzerland. Second it will become sponsor of seed saving initiatives. Third it will run a trust fund for benefit sharing in the sense of the international Nagoya Protocol on the access to genetic resources.

„DIVERSITATIS and ARCHE NOAH will work hand in hand to tackle future challenges.“

Klaus Rapf
Treasurer of ARCHE NOAH
www.arche-noah.at

Christian Schrefel

President of the board of trustees, Vienna
christian.schrefel_at_diversitatis.org
+43 699 10107493

Iris Strutzmann

Vice president of the board of trustees, Vienna
iris.strutzmann_at_diversitatis.org

Dr. Kathrin Arioli

Member of the board of trustees, Zurich
kathrin.arioli_at_diversitatis.org

Dr. Nikolaus Ludwiczek

Assistant of the board of trustees, Vienna nikolaus.ludwiczek_at_diversitatis.org
+43 660 1133150

DIVERSITATIS Stiftung – Vielfalt erhalten, Vielfalt nutzen.

In ein paar Sätzen

Diversitatis ist lateinisch und heißt – die Stiftung der Vielfalt.

Die DIVERSITATIS Stiftung fördert die biologische Vielfalt in der Landwirtschaft und im Gartenbau. Diesen Zweck verfolgt sie durch:

  • den Aufbau eines Samenarchivs in der Schweiz
  • die weltweite Förderung von Erhaltungsprojekten
  • die Entwicklung eines freien, verantwortungsvollen und gerechten Saatguthandels.

Die DIVERSITATIS Stiftung wurde 2017 vom österreichischen Verein für Kulturpflanzenvielfalt „Arche Noah“ gegründet. Sie ist eine gemeinnützige Stiftung nach Schweizer Recht mit Sitz in Zürich und Büro in Wien.

Zweck

Zweck der Stiftung ist die Erhaltung und die Entwicklung der biologischen Vielfalt und die Förderung ihrer nachhaltigen Nutzung, insbesondere bei Nutzpflanzen, Wildpflanzen und domestizierten Tieren.

Wir stellen den Sortenreichtum an Gemüse, Obst, Getreide, Bohnen, Ölsaaten, Wurzeln, Knollen, Nüssen, Kastanien, Kräutern, Heilpflanzen sowie die Vielzahl an Landrassen in der Nutztierhaltung ins Zentrum einer nachhaltigen Landwirtschaft. Wir fördern Menschen, die diesen Reichtum sammeln, bewahren, ihn nutzbar machen, verbreiten und weiterentwickeln. Wir setzen uns dafür ein, dass der Zugang zu dieser Vielfalt frei von Patenten und somit für jeden und jede verfügbar bleibt.

Unsere Philosophie

Erhalten durch nutzen.

Stifterin ARCHE NOAH

Stifterin der DIVERSITATIS ist der österreichische Verein „Arche Noah – Gesellschaft für die Erhaltung der Kulturpflanzenvielfalt und ihre Entwicklung“.

Die Arche Noah gehört mit rund 17.000 Mitgliedern und Förderern und über 30 Mitarbeitern und Mitarbeiterinnen zu den größten Erhaltungsorganisationen in Europa. An ihrem Standort im niederösterreichischen Schiltern führt sie einen Schaugarten und ein Samenarchiv. Viele ihrer Mitglieder beteiligen sich aktiv am Erhalt und der Verbreitung der lokalen angepassten Kulturpflanzen. Samen, Jungpflanzen und Obstbäume werden über den Online-Shop und über Saisonmärkte vertrieben. Die Arche Noah bietet außerdem eine Vielzahl an Praxisseminaren für Erwerbs- und Hobbygärtner und -gärtnerinnen an, sie beteiligt sich an europäischen Forschungsprojekten und sie setzt sich politisch für Sortenvielfalt in der Landwirtschaft ein.

Mit der Gründung der DIVERSITATIS Stiftung will die Arche Noah die internationale Zusammenarbeit zum Schutz und zur Weiterentwicklung der biologischen Vielfalt in der Landwirtschaft befördern. Konkret sind es drei Aufgaben, die der Stiftung übertragen und damit auf eigene Beine gestellt werden. Zum einen wird ein Duplikat der bestehenden Samensammlung, räumlich getrennt und langfristig abgesichert, in der Schweiz eingerichtet. Zum zweiten wird die Stiftung als Förderer von Erhaltungsinitiativen auftreten. Zum dritten wird sie den Difairsity Fonds betreiben. Dieser Treuhandfonds dient dem benefit sharing im Rahmen des internationalen Nagoya-Protokolls über den Zugang zu genetischen Ressourcen.

„Die gemeinnützige DIVERSITATIS Stiftung und der Verein ARCHE NOAH werden Hand in Hand die Zukunftsaufgaben bewältigen.“

Klaus Rapf
Kassier der ARCHE NOAH
www.arche-noah.at

Christian Schrefel

Präsident des Stiftungsrats, Wien
christian.schrefel_at_diversitatis.org
+43 699 10107493

DIin Iris Strutzmann

Vizepräsidentin des Stiftungsrats, Wien
iris.strutzmann_at_diversitatis.org

Dr.in Kathrin Arioli

Mitglied des Stiftungsrates, Zürich
kathrin.arioli_at_diversitatis.org

Mag. Dr. Nikolaus Ludwiczek

Assistent des Stiftungsrats, Wien
nikolaus.ludwiczek_at_diversitatis.org
+43 660 1133150